I want this Secretary!

A couple of weeks ago I purchased a secretary from a friend of a friend.  She was cleaning out a storage unit and was willing to unload some furniture on me for great prices.

(Once again…I forgot to take the before photos until after work was already started).

One of the items was a secretary.  At first I was hesitant but I remembered Miss Mustard Seed painted a secretary that I loved.  I knew it would require quite a bit of work.  It had some minor damage to the front and the top needed to be repaired as well.  I didn’t fall in love with it as it stood, but I fell in love with what it could become.

I love the curves in the drawers, and I love the feet.  But by far my most favorite part is the cubbies.

Speaking of cubbies….where are they?  We didn’t realize until after we removed the back that the cubbies slid right out.  This was going to make my job soooo much easier.

I liked the look that MMS achieved by not painting the inside of the secretary.  And I love it when people paint the inside shelving a complementary color.  So I decided I wanted it both ways.  I decided to paint the outside ASCP Old White, the inside ASCP Chateau Grey, and leave the shelves, the cubbies, the feet and the finial alone.

This is what it looks like in my booth at the Liberty Belle:

Looking at these pictures, it appears as though I was a little heavy handed on the wax, though I don’t remember it that way when I was looking at it in the store.  I may have to do a little wax touch up if it looks bad in person.  Anyhow, my husband said he wasn’t fond of the tri-color scheme I had going on.  He didn’t like the parts that were not painted.  I do like it and I hope others do too because I don’t want to have to paint the rest of it.

I went to auction Friday night with the main goal of getting items to fill the shelves with.  I scored that night because I got all the books, the camera and the mirror.

I soooo love all these little cubbies.  Those little things that look like columns on either side of the miniature door are actually pull out drawers.  I didn’t discover that until I delivered the piece to the store.

I really do love this piece.  I hope somebody falls in love with it and takes it so that I’m not tempted to bring it home….especially now that I know my husband is not too fond of it 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I want this Secretary!

  1. Christie says:

    Hello! I love how you left some of the wood details! Yes it is great to see how others finish projects that are pretty much exactly the same. I’m actually doing another one the exact same way for the Na-Da Farm event in October that will be for sale 🙂
    Thanks for stopping by!

  2. SueBee says:

    Oh boy you inspire me! I have the same cabinet but was afraid to take the plunge and paint it.
    It just might happen now!
    Enjoy your weekend~SueBee

  3. Ellen says:

    It looks wonderful!….maybe I’ll start on that “hutch” project I’ve been delaying….smiles.

  4. May says:

    Don’t doubt yourself. This looks great! Those cubbies are fabulous!

  5. Suzan says:

    This piece is gorgeous!

  6. melesa garrison says:

    WOW…I love it!

  7. Catht says:

    Love the new look, you did a fantastic job. Now I want to go and find a secretary to paint.

Leave a comment