Yellow Barrel Chair

Quite some time ago I bought this chair at auction for a mere $5.00.  I probably could have gotten it cheaper as I think I was the only bidder on it.

Image

The fabric was in great condition, but the wood had a few minor dings.  Since I purchased it for so cheap, I decided to try to sell it “as is” hoping to turn a quick easy profit.  But sadly that didn’t happen.  I was going to have to paint it.  I debated on the best way to protect the fabric, and ultimately decided to just tape it off.

Image

I taped around all the edges with frog tape and covered the seat with a trash bag and hoped for the best.

Image

I then carefully painted the chair with Miss Mustard Seed’s Linen Milk Paint.

Image

And I’m pleased to say that between the careful painting and the taping off of the fabric, the fabric was well protected.  The chair was the first thing to sell out of my booth that day.

Image

It’s amazing how a coat of paint transformed this ugly chair into a beauty.  And it really made the dated fabric come to life and look more stylish.

Image

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

