My New Cubbies

I got this cubby shelf recently at a garage sale.

I stopped at this sale on my way to work.  Only it was kinda out of the way.  As a result I was late.  Oh well.  The sale was worth it.

The Craigs List ad said everything free or nearly free.  That’s my kind of sale.

Of course it was the free part that got me.  Because the house itself was pretty scary inside.  You know the kind of house that when you leave you want to run home and take a shower asap.

I had dug around the sale for a while and as I always do, I look through everything again.  On my way out into the garage to look the second time, I spotted this on the wall.  I asked if it was for sale.  The lady said yes and the man said no.  Can you guess who won?

Even though it was in the garage it smelled as bad as the rest of the house.  I left it outside to air out for several weeks before getting to work on it.

The outside was perfect, but I did not like the black glue stuff inside the cubbies.  It had to go, so I painted it with red milk paint.

The left side of the cubby has a bottle opener.  It is hung on my basement wall behind my desk.  Since I don’t have any drawers in my desk, it will hold small items.

I didn’t take a picture of everything I got at this sale, but it was quite a bit of stuff.  And the price?  Well I got out of there for $10.  Heck…I was thrilled because I would have paid $20 for this cubby alone.

 

Linking up to Miss Mustard Seed’s Furniture Feature Friday

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My New Cubbies

  1. Cynthia says:

    What a great cubby shelf! Definitely worth being late for!

  2. Karena says:

    It’s beautiful. I’m a compete suck for antiques. Thanks for sharing. I would love for you to share it on my link party at cookienut.blogspot.com

  3. Cathy says:

    Way to go….love the free stuff. It is perfect on your wall, very creative. I would have never thought to use something like that. I need to find something similar for my wall above my sewing machine. I usually quilt in the winter time, that would be perfect to keep my sewing supplies in.

Leave a Reply

