My first post in 2 years….and it’s only just a table.

It’ll be interesting to see how long it takes me to finish this post, since it’s been over 2 years since my last post.

There hasn’t been a lack of material to post about (we’ve been remodeling our house for quite some time), mostly just motivation to take the pictures and write up the posts.

So I have to start somewhere.  This is our dining room table.

DR Table 6

I purchased this table, which I believe was some sort of large desk originally, several years ago at auction.  It was my first time to this auction house and I patiently waited for this table to go on the auction block.

DR Table 1

It never did!  I approached the auction house owner to ask her if she was going to sell it.  She said they used the table and didn’t plan on selling it, however, if I was interested, I could have it for $30.  SOLD!

DR Table 3

I can’t find any of the original pictures of it.  It had tan legs, a black top and a large piece of glass over the top.  There are 2 BIG drawers, perfect for holding table linens.  I tried to strip the black off the top to see what was under the paint.  It was the wierdest thing.  I don’t know what was under there.  The more I stripped, the more the surface wore away.  Yes I said the surface wore away.  I had new clue what it was and it kind of freaked me out so I decided the next best thing to do would be build a new top for it.

DR Table 5

I purchased some old barn wood, which we planed down, glued together and formed a new table top.  I love it.  I had my husband build a frame around the whole table top.  I love the look of it, but seriously don’t run into the corner, because that can hurt.  Good thing there aren’t little ones living here.

DR Table 4

The centerpiece is my rather large cheese board.  Perfect for company.  It was made out of the reclaimed wood we covered our kitchen peninsula with – someday maybe I’ll share that as well.

Sharing at:

Knick of Time
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

