It’s time to sell this coffee table…

Back last summer I purchased this coffee table.

Image

I know you are thinking it’s beautiful as it sits (NOT!) but I decided to freshen it up a bit.  Wow…lots of crackle on this piece.

Image

I stripped off the top of the table and painted the legs black (no picture to insert here).  It wasn’t special, but I thought surely somebody would buy it if I priced it cheap. 

Well I was wrong.  It sat in my booth for several months so I brought it home to give it more of a wow factor.  Thanks to Red Hen Home, I had the perfect inspiration…paint a clock face on the table.

Even though I have a projector, I don’t have the patience to paint the clock numbers on the table.  Instead I used my Pazzles to cut the numbers out. 

After cutting the numbers out, I did use my projector to project a clock face onto the table so I didn’t have to take a lot of time to position my stickers.  This picture shows the clock face being projected onto the table front.

Image

And here I have not so carefully placed my stickers on the table.

Image

Once the stickers were in place, I filled my stencils in with black paint.

Houston we have a problem.  When I removed the stickers, a lot of paint was removed too.  This was a bit of a concern in the first place, but not enough to stop me.  And now I have paid the price.

Image

So I decided to use sandpaper to mimic the look.  That didn’t exactly work either.  I figured the best remedy was to apply stickers to the whole piece and pull away the paint just as I had when I removed the number stencils.  FINALLY a use for all those vinyl scraps that I have been saving for some unknown reason.

Image

And guess what?

Image

It worked!  A little more sanding and some waxing and it was ready to go.

Image

I loved the table and I got to enjoy it in my living room for a couple of weeks before taking it down to Liberty Belle.  I marked the table up $64 more than my previous asking price and it sold right away.

Image

Not bad for about 2 hours worth of work.  Hmmm….I’m thinking I might just have to keep an eye out for another round coffee table.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to It’s time to sell this coffee table…

  1. I adore this table! I have a round table top that is too large to be a small table and too small to be a large table – maybe I could switch it out on a square coffee table and try your idea. Thanks for sharing!

  2. I saw your table at Funky Junk! I love how weathered and worn yours is. Beautiful work!

  3. LOVE this!! What a smart girl you are to think of using the projector for the number placement! I also love it when an “oops” turns into something fabulous, like your tape removing some of the paint to reveal rustic beauty.

  4. ann says:

    I kind of liked the red crackle but I LOVE the clock face. This should get alot of attention for you! Good job.

  5. Alice hanson says:

    Boy I love this! Great job.
    Smiles, alice

  6. Linda Leyble says:

    Hi – I had never heard of Pazzles until I read your post. Can you point me to where I could find more info about Pazzles vs. Silhouette vs. Cricut? I would like to be able to make my own stencils and perhaps cut a shape from chipboard and to create vinyl lettering/designs. I don’t think I’d be using it for much more. Thanks – loved your project!!

    Linda

  7. LUV this!!!!!!! Great job!!!!

    xoxo laurie

  8. LOVE THE TABLE IT TURNED OUT BEAUTIFUL. I WOULD LOVE TO FEATURE IT. PLEASE
    LET ME KNOW IF THAT WOULD BE OK WITH YOU.
    LAUREN

  9. Toodie says:

    Really like the table! Envy the person who ended up with it. 🙂

  10. Pamela says:

    Your table turned out great! Don’t you love when a plan comes together. I did a Faux Clock and I did it the hard way, I like the idea of the projector to get the placement correct. That was the time consuming part for me.

  11. awesome job…I will be making one soon.

  12. Pingback: REVIVAL MONDAY FEATURES #47 | Fashion Trendy

Leave a Reply

