The Mother of all Chicken Feeders

About a year ago, I was scouring the internet to find a chicken feeder just like this.

I had seen a few online and in magazines and knew I had to have one.  Finally one became available on E-Bay and I was the only bidder.  The starting price was kinda high and shipping wasn’t cheap, but I still got it for around $30.  It was really more than I wanted to pay, however, in months of searching I had only found 1 other one.  It was over $40 and in pretty bad shape so I passed.  So I bit the bullet and got this one.  I currently use it to sort mail and stuff.  It’s actually pretty clean right now.

A couple of weeks ago I found this feeder at the same sale I got this shelf from.  I’m having a hard time imagining how big the chickens were that ate out of this feeder.

It’s the mother of all chicken feeders.  Too big to go inside of my house (though I think it would be a cool towel holder in a big bathroom, or a cool magazine rack).

They actually had a couple of these at the sale.  And one of them they had planted with flowers.

Flowers were pretty, but not what I had in mind.

I thought it would be a super cool as a herb garden.  I cheated and got most of my herbs already grown (they were only $1.00 at Walmart).  I’ve planted dill and stevia on the other side.

Look at the size difference of the 2 feeders.  And really the small one is big.  The big one is HUGE.

And the best part, I got it for $20.  Less than the smaller one.

Don’t you think strawberries would be cute planted in one of these?  Hmmm….maybe I should try to pick up another one. 😉

Linking up to:  Funky Junk’s Saturday Nite Special

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Mother of all Chicken Feeders

  1. Oh pick me up one! I love it. What a great place for your herbs. You could even mix some flowers and herbs together. I wish we had a place around here that had barn sales like that!

  2. Love your chicken feeders! Using the big one as an herb garden is brilliant. I found one, once–it was really long like yours; I would like one about 18″ long, but I’m not even sure if that’s a reasonable wish. Thanks for visiting Red Hen Home and commenting on my nightstands!

  3. Amazingly fun piece and love your idea of the herb garden! That thing is so big it makes me wonder how fat those chickens were… 🙂

    Donna
    http://funkyjunkinteriors.blogspot.com/

  4. Lucy says:

    I love your use of this…I’ve GOT to show my mom…she’s going to love it too!

  5. Amy says:

    What a great chicken feeder. I need it just to feed all of my chickens with.

  6. Lisa says:

    I love.. love.. both feeders. I forget who’s blog it was just the other day, showed her chicken feeder as a plate rack. Both ways are fabulous.
    Lisa

  7. Yolanda says:

    Love your blog and those feeders are way cool. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

Leave a Reply

