Bringing the Indoors Out

Donna with Funky Junk wants to see our indoor elements used outdoors.

Last spring, my husband and I started (and still have yet to finish) a facelift for our house.  We live in the country and enter our home through the garage doors located on the side of our house.  Until our facelift, I didn’t do anything to our front porch because we never really use it.

So slowing but surely I’ve added stuff to it.  Sometime I need to “edit” it and get rid of the unwanted stuff.  Like the “iced branches” are a bit out of season.  Every time my husband happens to notice I have something new on the porch he says “somebody came by last night and unloaded a truckfull of junk on our front porch”.

One of the first pieces I put here was this table.  My mother bought it for me.  I think she paid a whopping $18 for it.  I just love it’s chippy goodness.  I didn’t have to do anything to it but clean it and seal it.

I picked up 2 milk cans at a sale for $5 each and painted them to match the trim on our house.  I think I paid $4.50 for the chair which I also painted to match the house trim.

If you look closely, you will see painting supplies.  So don’t look closely.

Just today I purchased another table which is currently have residing on the front porch.  But this is only temporary.

I am IN LOVE with this table!

I’m going to have to move things around a bit if it stays here very long.

It’s an oak table….and I got it for only $60!

I LOVE the chippy gray paint!

And the fact that it has a drawer!

The top is thick, tongue & groove and has a great patina!

But even better, I purchased it because I have the perfect mate for it.

I picked this up Father’s Day weekend.  I originally saw this over Easter weekend and resisted.  But I couldn’t stop thinking about it, and luckily no body else saw it’s beauty.  So now it’s mine.

In it’s previous life it was a custom built tool storage to fit in a van.   Notice the back is curved at the top to follow the lines of the van.  Currently it’s life is sitting in my daughter’s playhouse until I make room for it.

This shelf is 48 inches wide.  My new table is 61″ wide.  The back of the shelf is some type of metal, which will marry wonderfully with the chippy gray paint on my new table.

In fact, I like this table soooo much, I may go back and get another one.  They had 2 more with some damage but also a cheaper price.  I’m thinking one would make a great outdoor buffet server.

I have aspirations of opening up some type of booth.  And this will be a display piece for knick-knacks…and it won’t be for sale!

Linking up to:  Funky Junk’s Saturday Nite Special and Miss Mustard Seed’s Furniture Feature Friday

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Bringing the Indoors Out

  1. Lisa says:

    I love everything I saw. The gray and oak table wow,wow,and wow. I have 3 booths and love every minute of it. You definitely have good taste. Come and check me out you’ll see we like the same things.
    Lisa

  2. Kate says:

    I love the new table as well. Bee-utiful.

  3. Wow- those 2 tables are great finds and like you, I love the chippiness! I don’t think your porch looks junky! In fact, I’m finding that the hardest part about decorating is that delicate balance of having just the right stuff in just the right places. Your porch looks great and very welcoming. Great job! 😉 (Oh and I found you via Miss Mustard Seed)!

  4. Oh my gosh! I’m in love with both of your sweet tables! Can you just imagine the stories they have to tell…..? Can you just imagine the old farmhouses they used to live in and the work-worn hands that pounded bread and served dinners on them….? Beautiful. Just beautiful! 🙂

    xoxo laurie

  5. Amy says:

    I love your new table also. Such a great piece.

    Nice to visit with you!

Leave a Reply

