Dining Room Redo – complete!

Well sort of.  A little bit of tweaking here and there.  But we’ll call it good for now.

Lets have a look at the before pictures.  Before I snapped these pictures, we replaced our lovely gold/glass ceiling fan and light fixture.  We had also removed the trim around the laundry room door to begin the process of installing a sliding barn door.

 

I really liked the green….I really loved the dark walls…and I really liked the look of the oak furniture against the dark green color.  So it really took some adjustment to paint the walls an antique white.

Now that I’m used to it….I couldn’t be happier that I took the plunge.  So much more bright and cheerful.

In an earlier post, I showed you this piece that I got off the curb.  For years I left it white, and then I decided to refinish it and give it a whole new look.  I revealed the “finished” product a few weeks back, but have since done more polishing on the wax job and was able to remove a lot of the streaky-ness.  So here it is now:

Here is the view facing our sliding back door (which we also hope to replace some day with french doors):

Don’t you just love the wooden stand that my PB galvanized tiered stand is on?  We think this piece is actually part of a baptismal stand.  I just love the inlaid crosses towards the bottom.  This piece will forever be one of the most special gifts I have ever received.  Little did I know that when I received this last year for my birthday, that it would be the last gift I would receive from my mother.

To update my chalkboard, I simply glazed over my previous paint job.

I took down the lovely floral cornice above the sliding doors and replaced it with hardware I found reasonably priced at Tuesday Morning.  The curtains are drop cloths.  I extended the curtain rod farther than the door on the left hand side.  That way I can open the curtains to the left without blocking the door.

Here is an up-close view of some of the treasures in my china hutch.

Here are more of my treasures atop the hutch.  I absolutely love the old terrarium I picked up earlier this year.  It really reminds me of a church.  Just last weekend I picked up the wicker cloche at an estate sale.

I recently picked up this old tool tote.  I’ve been wanting one for a long time.  I had plans to put it in the man cave on our newly refinished table (which by the way, has already been replaced by a primitive desk I found last weekend), however, once I put the napkins, candles, salt/pepper in it…I just knew it needed to be upstairs in the dining room.

So here is another view of the sliding barn door.  More information on how to construct your own sliding hardware can be found here.

I picked up the old framed mirror for a whopping $2.50 over Easter weekend.  I also picked up the tall metal stand at the same store for $5.00.  Each required a little bit of work, but they were BARGAINS.  I actually have plans to insert a double sided wooden sign (french wording on one side and a chalkboard on the other) in the very near future.  However, my daughter is currently using it to proudly display the various medals she has won over the past couple of weeks (silver in a math competition, gold in a soccer tournament, and silver in a 5K race).

Remaining future plans include:  crown moulding, new floors, old/new table (and perhaps hutch too), and a little touch-up trim work around the sliding barn door.

Here is one final picture of the transformation.  Wow, I can’t believe what a difference a little paint makes!

Edited to add:  Duhhh…if you can’t figure out why you’re pictures are coming out so wonky check out your camera settings 😉  A special thanks to Tracy D for removing the yellowish tone from my pictures and cleaning them up for me (you did a great job with what you had to work with)!

Linking up to:

Funky Junk’s Saturday Nite Special

Miss Mustard Seed’s Furniture Feature Friday

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Dining Room Redo – complete!

  1. Tracy says:

    It looks great. I love that barn door. I was just thinking about one in my family room and then you make me want one even more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

