Thank you Scenic Route!!!!

Createmykeepsake has a DT contest going on right now. I’m kinda on the fence and haven’t decided if I am going to apply yet. But I did submit this tonight (it is only 1 part of the 3 part process).Truth is, I’m killing 2 birds with one stone with this project. I made this little card to send to Layle with Scenic Route to thank her for the awesome prize pack I received from her earlier this month (she chose my card as a winner in CMK’s Roxbury Rox contest). I thought I would combine efforts and use her thank you card as my card entry for CMK.

For the card entry for CMK’s DT, you need to use a common product in a unique way. There are what I consider to be 2 unique qualities to this card. First, I used a mini file folder template (a Foo Fa La mini folder that I’ve used over and over for many years now) as the basis for my card.

The other unique quality I used was the little Scenic Route tag found in the upper right hand corner of this card. I wanted to put Scenic Route (or SR) in that space since this card it headed to them. But there isn’t much room to work with because this card is relatively small. All my rubons and stamps were just too big for the job. Plus, I thought it would be better to have letters that matched their original logo, when it struck me. They have their name on the tear off portion of their papers (you know the bottom strip that has the MFG name and product info). Lucky for me, it was the perfect size!

This card is only about 4.5″ tall from its highest point, and 2.5″ wide. There are 2 pages and a pocket (which I put a tag in) between the two pages.

Products used were:
SR Background Blue Grid Worn
SR Loveland Die Cut Sheet
SR Roxbury Whiting Street
SR Roxbury Scrap Strip
3 Bugs Bloomin Doodles Rubons
American Crafts Uptown Khaki Ribbon
Stampin Up All about U (stamps)
Tim Holtz Distress Ink – Tea Dye
?FooFaLa? mini file folders (really old product) used as template
Black journaling pen
scenic-route-december-2007-copy.jpg

I also saw that Scenic Route was having a December Product Challenge on their website. The Challenge was to use one of their holiday lines to create a layout or a project. For grins, I also submitted this project to them.

Wish me luck!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thank you Scenic Route!!!!

  1. Carolyn says:

    The card is awesome! Love the design of it, and love that you added the scenic route name to it. Those are the special touches I like on projects. I hope they do too!

    I also wanted to say Happy New Year to you and your family, may it be a wonderful year ahead for you.

  2. Latharia says:

    Oh, very clever, Lisa!! 😀

  3. Danielle H says:

    I just adore this card!!!!!! I hope you apply for the CMK DT – you are sooo good!

Leave a Reply

